Broke the site - applying skin error

Having a problem with your site? Post in here, and we'll see what we can do to help!

Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Nathaniel Hunter » Thu May 14, 2015 4:30 pm

I was updating the Kumiho site with a new skin and got it to work but somehow in the process uploaded the skin twice. I attempted to delete the extra dark-frontier-1.0 file and now cannot login to the site at all. I keep getting


An Error Was Encountered

Unable to load the requested file: dark-frontier-1.0/template_main.php


The skin was operating just fine, I was only attempting to tidy up and now the site is down. Anyone know how to fix this?
Nathaniel Hunter
Crewman Recruit
Crewman Recruit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:37 am
Location: Ohio

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Treymiar » Thu May 14, 2015 11:23 pm

Dude, I feel for you.

Let me preface with this: I don't know Nova software.
The last sim software I installed was SMS.
However... These people do!
http://forums.anodyne-productions.com/

That being said, I'll offer useless commentary. It sounds like you'll need to log into the hosting website to do some manual file surgery outside of Nova, not through it. Or, back up your foundation database and do the nuke & pave (delete/reinstall).

... could be utterly useless advice.
Don't listen to me. Listen to Anodyne support.

- PSF
Image

"Sometimes, people become enemies because they don't understand each other.
Other times, they become enemies because they do."
Treymiar
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:15 am

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Williams » Fri May 15, 2015 8:44 am

Site loads fine as a guest (pulling files from darkfrontier directory), so I'm going to guess that you installed the dark frontier skin twice, and had a different version of it set as the guest skin and your own skin option?

I can see in the FTP that you've re-uploaded the dark-frontier-1.0 directory - has that restored the site for you? If not, let me know and I can go into the database through the back-end to change your own skin setting from dark-frontier-1.0 to darkfrontier.

There's no need to nuke the site for skin issues like this, since they're fairly localised; resetting the values through the db (which is something I can do for anyone hosted on pf.net) lets you view the site again, and then you just need to go and correct whatever setting is pointing to the skin files you deleted.
User avatar
Williams
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:20 pm
Location: England

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Nathaniel Hunter » Fri May 15, 2015 3:22 pm

I'm assuming that's what one of our players did, fortunately he popped on and was able to jiggle the handle and push the right buttons. The skin install itself was easy enough, Kumiho is starting to look like a real live SIM! :) Thanks for the assistance, I'll probably break something again in the future. No certainty but more than likely a safe bet heh.
Nathaniel Hunter
Crewman Recruit
Crewman Recruit
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:37 am
Location: Ohio

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Ktrelan » Fri May 15, 2015 5:16 pm

I'm having the same issue.
Image
User avatar
Ktrelan
Crewman Recruit
Crewman Recruit
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 5:32 pm

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby haf » Sun May 17, 2015 1:06 pm

Ktrelan: did you solve your issue yet?
haf
Crewman Recruit
Crewman Recruit
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 12:03 pm

Re: Broke the site - applying skin error

Postby Ktrelan » Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 pm

Yes, sorry I meant to post it was fixed
Image
User avatar
Ktrelan
Crewman Recruit
Crewman Recruit
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 5:32 pm


Return to Website Helpdesk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron